About us

The fantastic fourth Hospital Heroes annual awards

03 October 2016

Health Care

Now celebrating its fourth year, the annual Southend Hospital Heroes Awards was a night to remember for hospital staff who had been shortlisted for a series of awards from right across the hospital, including both those on the front line and those playing their part behind the scenes.

The eight  award categories were Care with Compassion, Working Together, the Chief Executive's Professional and Accountable award, Unsung Hero, Innovation, the Chairman's award for Outstanding Achievement, Employee of the Year and, of course, the publicly nominated Patients' Choice award supported by the Echo.

Claire is winner of Patients' Choice award on her 20th anniversary

Our Patients' Choice award, voted for by members of the public, saw a phenomenal frenzy of voting with over 25% of the more than 7,000 votes being cast in the last two days.  Editor of the Echo, Chris Hatton, was there on the evening to announce the winner of this very special award.

Claire Buckell, Clinical Development Nurse, was overwhelmed to hear that she had been voted the winner with 58% of votes and the room erupted on hearing the announcement.

On collecting her award, Claire said: "This award is made all the more special as it's 20 years to the day since I got my nursing PIN and qualified. It really means a lot that it coincides with 20 year's nursing, I see it not just about celebrating the work I'm doing now but the work I have done in the past. It's a very special award and I'll treasure it and the fact that it was nominated by the public.

"I'm totally gobsmacked, amazed and honoured. I never thought my name would be read out, I was up against some really cool people who I know work really hard so thanks you to everyone who voted for me. I can't believe it."

Awards evening

With VIPs including the Mayors of Southend and Castle Point, and the Chairman of Rochford District Council and Chairman of Rayleigh Town Council in attendance, it was an evening to remember and one to be really proud of.

Jon Findlay, Chief Operating Officer and Deputy Chief Executive of the Trust, one of the co-hosts of the evening, said: "It's so great to see a whole room of people together who take so much pride in their work and the work of the hospital as a whole.  We know from the number of entries we had that the finalists on the evening were the cream of an amazing crop of nominees.  Every single staff member at the awards really has made a significant difference to patient care."

Hospital Chairman, Alan Tobias OBE, who co-hosted the awards, added: "These awards are really special to staff as they know they have been nominated by their colleagues or their patients.  I have the privilege every year of picking my award winner out of all the nominations and it's not an easy job.  The staff we saw at the awards, and the colleagues they represent, show how care with compassion runs through the heart of Southend Hospital."

You can view the images from the awards evening on the official Southend Hospital Facebook page here: http://bit.ly/HH2016album

Hospital Heroes 2016 shortlisted nominees and winners

Innovation Award

Emergency Surgical Ambulatory Care (ESAC) Team -Winner

Information Team

The Renal Peritoneal Dialysis Team


Care with Compassion Award

Deborah Edwards, Lead Midwife for Midwife-led Birthing Unit

Anne Groome and Lisa Cubitt, Ward Managers, Respiratory Unit -Winner

Tina Penn, HIV Clinical Nurse Specialist


Unsung Hero Award

Shirley Howard, Domestic, Emergency Department

Sue Wilkinson, Undergraduate Administrator 

Matthew Osborne, Nurse, Emergency Department -Winner


Chief Executive's Professional and Accountable Award

Dr Sarah Mapplebeck, Consultant Clinical Biochemist

Neil Davis, Team Leader, Theatres

Ross Harrison, Health Records Manager -Winner


Chairman's Outstanding Achievement Award

The Perineal Trauma Team

Ann French, Lead Urology Oncology Clinical Nurse Specialist

Michael Daley, Dementia Trainer -Winner


Working Together Award

Oral Maxillo Facial Surgery Team

Estates and Capital Projects Team -Winner

PhysioDirect Team


Employee of the Year Award

Emergency Department Multidisciplinary Team 

Rhona Hayden and Sherri Bradshaw, Nervecentre Clinical Lead and Support Nurses -Winner

Nicola Sheppard, Diagnostic Test Administrator, Heart and Chest Clinic


Patients' Choice Award

Balmoral Ward and Ambulatory Wound Unit

Sister Irene Ivory, Critical Care Unit

Claire Buckell, Clinical Development Nurse for Medicine -Winner