About us

Meet the Governors

Please click here to view the uncontested governor results for 2015

Please click here to view the contested governor result for 2015

Council of Governors from September 2017 (32 governors in total)


Elected (24)  

Public governors (19) 


Southend - Vacant

Southend - Nigel Gayner JoP BEM


 Nigel Gayner

Rochford - Les Catley - Lead Governor

Southend  - Elizabeth Leigh

 Les Catley

 Elizabeth Leigh

Southend  - Sally Holland - Deputy Vice Chair of Governors & Deputy Lead Governor

Southend  - Lawrence Collin - Vice Chair of Governors

Sally Holland 

Lawrence Collin 

Southend - Vacant

Rest of Essex - Judith Craven


     Judith Craven

Castle Point - Joe Cooke

Rest of Essex - Chima Okorafor

 Joe Cooke

   Chima Okorafor

Castle Point  - Brian Terry

Rochford - Miriam Schramm

 Brian Terry

Miriam Schramm
Rochford  - Vacant Castle Point  - Rachel Clark
Rachel Clark 2


Southend  - Nirmal Gupta MBE

Southend  - Frank Haysom

Nirmal Gupta Frank Haysom

Rochford  - Vacant

Castle Point  - Vivien Burling

Vivien Burling

Rest of Essex - Vacant    







Hospital worker (staff) governors (4)


Southend Hospital  - Laura Hilton

Southend Hospital  - Vacancy

Laura Hilton 


Southend Hospital - Jesudass Johnselvan 

 Jesudass Johnselvan

Southend Hospital - Stephanie Carey

Stephanie Carey






Hospital worker (volunteer workers) governor (1)


Southend Hospital - Ted Lewin

 Ted Lewin


Appointed (8) 

Local authority governors (4)


Essex County Council - Cllr Terry Cutmore

Southend Borough Council - Cllr TBC

Terry Cutmore 


Castle Point Borough CouncilCllr Pat Haunts (Mrs)

Rochford District Council - Cllr Julie Gooding

 Cllr Pat Haunts Julie Gooding 




Partnership governors (4)


Anglia Ruskin University - Melanie Bird

Essex University - Sarah Lee

 Melanie Bird

Sarah Lee 

Southend Hospital Foundation - Mick Thwaites

Mick Thwaites

Southend Association of Voluntary Services - Cllr John Lamb

John Lamb